The Funding Mechanisms Working Group is working to identify the main programs and financing mechanism existing in the US and Canada, as well as in EU (apart from Horizon 2020) to support international cooperation in ICT research and innovation.

The Funding Mechanisms WG will produce an Input Paper to be considered in the Transatlantic ICT Forum, including a review of available funding mechanisms and opportunities, as well as sound recommendations for mutual opening of programmes in the ICT field.



Jostein K. Sundet

Ph.D., Special Adviser, NordForsk

Background ph. d in atmospheric and climate sciences at University of Oslo and University of California Irvine. Worked as Assistant Professor at Univ. of Oslo, Group leader of Scientific Computing at Univ. of Oslo, Special adviser at Research Council of Norway Climate and Polar issues, currently at NordForsk working with funding instruments for climate sciences and Infrastructures

Working Group Members


With its origins in the Adaptive Technology Resource Centre, which she launched in 1993, Jutta has established the IDRC as an internationally recognized center of expertise in the inclusive design of emerging information and communication systems and practices, with a special focus on education. Jutta also heads the Inclusive Design Institute, a multi-university regional centre of expertise. Jutta is the co-director of Raising the Floor International. She leads international multi-partner research networks that have created broadly implemented innovations that support inclusion e.g., Fluid Project, FLOE , and many others. Jutta and her team have pioneered network-supported personalization as an approach to accessibility in the digital
domain. She has played a leading role in developing accessibility legislation, standards and specifications internationally, including W3C WAI ATAG, IMS AccessForAll, ISO 24751, and AODA Information and Communication.

Jutta Treviranus

Professor and Director, Inclusive Design Research Centre (IDRC) at OCAD University

May D. Wang

Professor, Georgia Tech

She is Associate Professor in the Joint Department of BME, School of ECE, The Winship Cancer  Institute, IBB, and IPaT at Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University, USA. She is a Georgia Research Alliance Distinguished Cancer Scholar, Director of the Biocomputing and Bioinformatics Core in Emory-GeorgiaTech Cancer Nanotechnology Center, and Co-Director of Georgia-Tech Center of Bio-Imaging Mass Spectrometry. Prof. Wang’s research is on Big Biomedical Data Analytics with a focus on Biomedical and Health Informatics (BHI) for Personalized and Predictive Health. It includes high throughput next generation sequencing and -omic data mining to identify clinical biomarkers, pathological imaging informatics, health informatics, bionanoinformatics, and systems modeling. She has published 150+ peer reviewed articles leading academic publications. She has actively participated in FDA-led Microarray Quality Control and Sequencing Consortium (MAQC-SEQC) and her bioinformatics systems were certified by NIH/National Cancer Informatics Program as silver-level compatible (e.g. caCORRECT, omniBiomarker).


Jesse Szeto

Director, NCURA Global

He serves as DISCOVERY Advisory Board. Policy Analysis. Implement NCURA’s global strategy. Establish strategic alliances with global partners. He also acts as the Horizon 2020 Legal & Financial National Contact Point (NCP) for the U.S. by connecting European researchers to U.S. partners and advising U.S. researchers on applying for the EC Horizon 2020 R&I Programme.


Talita Soares

Senior Policy Officer, EARTO

EARTO – European Association of Research and Technology Organisations


Ron Van Holst

Director, High Performance Computing at Ontario Centres of Excellence

Mr. Holst is passionate about building partnerships around data analytics and advanced computing technologies to accelerate performance of academic and commercial research. He has a broad engineering background in product development, systems architecture, performance and competitive analysis, product and project management. Strengths include a rare blend of technical depth, business acumen and the ability to communicate effectively. Leveraging the talent of the entire Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE) team, Ron leads OCE’s mandate with the Southern Ontario Smart Computing Innovation Platform (SOSCIP) consortium to deliver strong commercial impact on small to medium-sized enterprises (SME) in Ontario by facilitating access to world-class research partners, enabling the transfer of new technologies to SMEs and increasing industry placements for talent. This advanced computing platform includes Canada’s largest supercomputer, a start-of-the-art cloud computing research platform with big data analytics software and an advanced compute acceleration technology


Bonnie Wolff-Boenisch

Head of Research Affairs, Science Europe

She acts as liaison towards the 50 Member Organisations from 25 countries and disseminate the work of the Scientifc Committees.


Erica Key

Executive Director, Belmont Forum

Erica joined the Belmont Forum as Executive Director of the Secretariat in June 2015. She leads membership and strategic development for the Belmont Forum, building connections between funders and organizations invested in global change research. She forges these new connections to ensure that the Belmont Forum Challenge–which focuses on advancement of interdisciplinary, transdisciplinary, and multilateral scientific research to inform human action–is met and the value-added of this approach is demonstrated. Erica draws on her experience as a program director at the U.S. National Science Foundation, interagency agreements lead, and a global change researcher to elevate Belmont Forum activities through transparent communication, flexible partnering, and active engagement with the international research and data communities.


Greg Singer

Director Research Services, OCAD University

Kenneth Calvert

Division Director, CIES/CNS, National Science Foundation

Ken was Professor of Computer Science. He has served as Chair of the Department of Computer Science, and as Interim Director of the Center for Visualization and Virtual Environments at Kentucky. He is a widely recognized leader in the field of computer networks and systems. In his 25-year academic career, he has made contributions in areas including network topology modeling, active and programmable networking, and future Internet architectures.  Ken received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Texas at Austin. He received his M.S. degree in computer science from Stanford University, and his B.S. degree in computer science and engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Prior to his appointment at the University of Kentucky, he was a Member of the Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories in Holmdel, NJ, and served on the faculty in the College of Computing at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He also brings experience as past Acting President of Lumenware, LLC, a startup focused on seamless interoperability between computer systems and user interfaces. Ken is a Fellow of the IEEE and an active member of the IEEE Computer and Communications Societies.


Henriette Krimphoff

Senior Scientific Officer at DLR-PT

She gave policy advice to the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in the field of international cooperation and was part of the German delegation in the Strategic Forum for International STI Cooperation (SFIC) for four years. Since 2016 she is the coordinator of the H2020 funded project BILAT USA 4.0. The BILAT project aims to enhance and further develop a strong partnership between the US and EU in science, technology and innovation. Before joining DLR-PT, she has worked as account manager in the field of expert recruitment.